New Try: Pumpkin Seed Protein Bread

I shoveled some more of the heavy snow this morning and then decided to skip today’s CF and OLY class to give my back some rest. Kinda bummed. I just hate missing class. Oh and the sugar cereal had to go out the door. Cant handle it. Need to stick to Rice Krispies and cream of rice for PWO.

#todaysfood – Did I say I love that sweet stuff? I really do.

[IMG]

I was waiting for the chance to make some (protein) bread, I guess its a German thing. I got rid of my bread maker a couple of years ago, since gluten-free is the way to go for me. Its a really heavy and dense bread. I love that and it tastes pretty good, but not like some wheat bread.

Pumpkin Seed Protein Bread (Low-Carb & Gluten-Free)

Ingredients

1/2 cup of ground-up pumpkin seeds
1/4 cup of liquid egg whites
1 whole egg
2 tbsp pea protein powder (see Note below)
2 tbsp flax and goji mix – or just plain flaxseed
1/4 cup of almond milk
1 tbsp coconut flour

Directions

1. Using a handheld blender or food processor, blend all the above ingredients together.

2. Pour the mix into a nonstick (ideally silicone) pan. Pour it in until it reaches the top of the pan (your bread won’t be rising so don’t pour it all thin expecting some kind of crazy aeration to happen). I used a small bread pan (5″) so duplicate the ingredients if you’re using a larger one.

3. Bake at 175 C (around 350 F) for 35-40 minutes or until when you poke the bread with a knife, your knife comes out clean. Remember, if you’re using a larger pan, to let the bread cook for a bit longer.

Macros (per slice out of 8)

105kcals, 7g protein, 3g cars (out of which 1g is fiber), 7g fat.

[IMG]

Leave a Reply

