Making some beef broth

I got my blood work done this morning. I always get lost in that hospital complex for whatever reason. In the past when they would take blood it would try a couple of attempts to find the right vein to allow 8 veils of blood to be drawn. This time it was effortless and no poking around.  One more reason to be happy to have lost 64 pounds. For this one I fasted for 12 hours.

My employer regulary offers free health screenings between February and May to encourage employees to be informed about their health stats. Participation is only around 50%. Go figure. I’ll use it. I could do a repeat of the lipids and glucose, but will drink a BPC before the test to see what impact it has.

So what is BPC? Yup, its Bulletproof coffee. The puropse really is to give you energy and extent the period of no eating. Thats why ideally I want to use it before my breakfast, not after, to move the meal closer to 12pm. A shorter feeding window means more time for the body to chill or do some cleanup and repairs. The quality of ingredients in this concoction is important, and no its not a stick of butter unless you want to spend the rest of the day in the bathroom and maybe work on that heart attack. I do the BPC with about 1 tbsp of butter and 1 tbsp of MCT.

20140315-092009.jpg 20140315-092016.jpg

bpc

But remember I also run on higher fat (low carb) so my body doesn’t need to adjust. Not sure, but I dont think it would be a good idea for high carbers to use this hack, as it may chew up a big part of your fat allowance for the day and may not give you the hunger suppressing advantage for too long.

My shopping trip was quick as I had still quite a few items in the fridge and freezer that need to be processed first. I am making bone broth for the first time. It will simmer for up to 24 hours. Kinda scary and exciting.

20140315-091952.jpg 20140315-092002.jpg 20140315-092524.jpg

Leave a Reply

