09/15/2013

This will be my last post in a while. The media fast is coming as a new habit. Dang! Now I have to use my Moleskin to journal for those 2 weeks. Not sure if I can make it for 2 weeks without my log here. I had been dreading this since I heard about it 6 month ago when the previous team got that habit. That just means I really need that media fast and need to disconnect. In the mean time have an awesome two weeks and see you around the 29th again.

Today’s food prep was quick.

20130915-173626.jpg 20130915-173656.jpg

I tried this Hot Chocolate and its yummy, thick and rich. The little speckles are nuts since I did not use the creamy kind of peanut butter. It was Delish!

20130915-173751.jpg

Ingredients
1 cups of milk (I used 2% semi-skimmed cow’s milk)
1 tbsp smooth Peanut Butter (could substitute Almond Butter)
1/8 cup Chocolate Whey Protein Powder
2 tbsp 100% Cocoa Powder
1/4 tsp of Xanthan Gum

Directions
In a pot, add together the milk, whey, xanthan gum, cocoa powder, and peanut butter. Heat it all up at medium heat while whisking. Take it off the heat as soon as it gets hot but not boiling hot—think warm enough to touch. If you wait any longer and the mixture boils, the whey will start to curdle.

Macros
216 kcal, 7g fat, 14g carbs, 24g protein

Top it with some protein whipped cream. This is optional, but it adds a great texture to the drink and gives you a hidden pocket of delicious creaminess to look forward to. The added protein alone is worth giving it a shot.
To make protein whipped cream: Whisk some quark or low-fat ricotta with 1/4 cup of vanilla whey protein powder and 2-3 tbsp of milk. Place the mixture in a piping bag and pipe it on the hot chocolate.

Today’s Meals:

20130915-173556.jpg 20130915-173608.jpg 20130915-173718.jpg

M1: Duck egg omelet with spinach and radishes
M2: Salad greens with veggies, chickpeas and eggs
M3: Hot Chocolate

I did the Hot Chocolate test around 5pm and since it was quite filling I will just skip my protein shake for dinner.

Leave a Reply

