07/04/2013

So this morning I was ready to get on my inline skates and have some fun. I drove them around in my car for 5+ years always ready. So this morning I got down to the lakefront around 7am. I pulled them out and when I tried them on, guess what?  they did not fit any longer.  The lakefront was so pretty and the fog had not quite lifted off. I was so utterly disappointed. ;-(

20130704-192257.jpg 20130704-192306.jpg 20130704-192321.jpg

But then this afternoon we had a great walk, caught a nice dose of vitamin D and walked just over 4 miles. It was fun.

This evening I tried out a new recipe of a kale salad and its Oh so yummy. I got this recipe from a co-worker. He did not have exact measurements, so I just used what I felt like.  You would need kale, sliced almonds, dried cranberries, diced Granny Smith apple, garlic, shallots, oj or freshly pressed oranges, balsamic vinegar, chili flakes, honey, olive oil, dried oregano. I used my hands to mix it well.

20130704-192640.jpg


Cravings and how I try to deal with them

When I encounter cravings I will work the following steps. Sometimes they work and sometimes they dont. Considering that we have to reverse many years of our old behaviours, I focus on just getting better not being perfect.  First I check whats really going on. Am I tired, exhaused, stressed, etc, and can I remedy it at that time and location. Could I go for a 5 min walk or 10 minute nap. If not I just do the best I can and it may mean eating a couple of those mini candy bars from my co-workers drawer and just get back on track for the next meal. I now dont extend those not so good food choices any longer. In the past a meal became a bad day, a bad day became a bad week and the hole became so deep that it was impossible to climb out of it. The “clean slate” certainly helps and knowing that nobody is or has to be perfect all the time.

But I am also working on having some treats available, and trying to be prepared. Here are some of my favorites:

Apple Blueberry Protein Pancakes

20130601-131401.jpg

3 Egg Whites
1 big Apple, cored
1/4 cup of Vanilla Whey Protein
1/4 cup of Coconut Flour
1/8 cup of Blueberries
Blend all ingredients except blueberries. Spray pan with non-stick spray and heat on low/medium heat. Pour batter onto pan in small circles and add blueberries. When bubbles form, flip over slowly. Add some Greek yogurt, fruit and nuts and it will make a fabulous meal or treat.

Sweet Potato Protein Mug Cake

100g sweet potato, cooked and mashed or canned pumpkin
2 egg whites
1 teaspoon baking powder
2 scoops of vanilla whey protein powder
1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
Blend everything together and stick it in a mug. Cover with clingfilm, microwave for 2mins. Make sure you have a big mug handy it will expand quite a bit. Optional have some frozen berries on the side of your mug cake and top with some more cinnamon.

 

Toasted Coconut and Vanilla Whey Protein Bars

20130703-213452.jpg

1/2 cup of vanilla whey
1/4 cup of toasted coconut (just toast some coconut flakes on a skillet; it makes them even tastier!)
1/4 cup of coconut or almond flour
1/4 cup of milk, any
Chocolate for coating
Mix the above together with a spoon, fork, spatula, or your hands and divide the mixture into three. You’ll notice it’s nice and compact. Feel free to eat some of the batter at this stage. If it’s too fiberful, add some ground nuts to it. You just need to mix it up and make sure it’s not sticky or wet (if it IS sticky or wet, just add a bit more coconut flour to it). Put them into the freezer for at least 30 minutes.
Next thing you do is melt your chocolate in a water bath. When the chocolate has melted, dunk your bars in there to coat them. When coated, transfer them to the freezer or fridge (depending on how soon you want them to be ready).

I like to experiment and find lots of fun stuff here at  ProteinPow. The advantage to those treats are that they contain protein powders and will slow down the cravings and in my case its harder to overeat on those. And the website is great for guys too, as those recipes are very easy to make. Also the Protein Fluffs are awesome.

 

Today’s meals:

20130704-192210.jpg 20130704-192217.jpg 20130704-192224.jpg 20130704-192248.jpg

Leave a Reply

