Favorite kitchen item

I started experimenting to make crepes and bough this rather inexpensive pan for $8, knowing that if I like making the crepes I will have to look for a better one down the road. A cheap non-stick is just that, cheap and low quality. And except for eggs I either use my Le Creuset cast-iron or stainless steel pots and pans. I stumbled over the Lodge Logic cast iron griddle for $15, which is perfect to make crepes, pancakes, or my other favorite chickpea pizza. They key is to season it and keep it that way. I use coconut oil to season as it has a very high smoke point.

20130413-143200.jpg 20130615-142011.jpg

The griddle found at Target for $8 vs the Lodge Logic cast-iron griddle for only additional $7, which will last a lifetime.

20130615-142033.jpg 20130615-142024.jpg

Those buckwheat crepes are just great over and over again. They are a great little gluten-free wrappers for sweet and savory fillings. Here I used some quark (Greek yogurt, cottage cheese), with frozen cherries, pecans and acai berries. To boost the protein just add some whey or casein protein to the quark or yogurt.

Leave a Reply

